Posted by: Xhyra Graf | 23 December 2006

Subjectivity defended…

Finally started doing some reading again for the final Master’s paper [which I’m supposed to finish next semester, if I manage not to flunk out.]

I think the break was necessary.  And…I think the Marx/Buddha paper actually helped a bit, although I still have no desire to convert.  In typical Tonie fashion, I think if you read Christianity right, it says the same basic thing…this world not real; it’s just the time needed for exercises you must go through in order to align your head correctly so you can face the inevitability of death without fear.  Yada, Yada, Yada. 

Yeah…I can just hear the Praise and Worship CD scratch to a halt as the music minister faints, then falls on top of the stereo system.

Anyway, Woohoo! It has been good to begin reading this stuff again.  Came across: The Taboo of Subjectivity: Toward a New Science of Consciousness

It’s on my My Amazon.com Wish List.  I need more friends, that list is looooong. Some of these I just want to have my own copy.  Add extensive fines by the school library to the list of things I have to take care of before I can graduate.  I’m going to rework the outline over the next few weeks and get to steppin’. It’s going to be a challenge.

In particular, I have to take another look at

The View from Within: First-person Approaches to the Study of Consciousness (Consciousness Studies)The View from Within: First-person Approaches to the Study of Consciousness

and,

Creativity: Flow and the Psychology of Discovery and InventionCreativity: Flow and the Psychology of Discovery and Invention

Categories

