Posted by: Xhyra Graf | 14 January 2007

Punchy

“It’s not how hard you can hit, but how hard you can GET hit and still keep going.” Rocky Balboa

Yes.  I did. I went to see “Rocky Balboa” and I’ll put the other quote too.  “It’s not how it looks to other people, but how it looks to you.”  Rocky and I grew up together.  I support him in his efforts to do what he does however hard it may be to watch his aging body shuffle through a boxing match.

There is a scene at the exhibition fight where a Rocky leans over the ropes and says, “How you doin'” to a young announcer whose response was to turn to the guy next to him in excitement and say, “Rocky Balboa just asked me how I’m doing! I used to watch his fights as a kid! I never thought I would be calling one of them! I’m a fan I can’t help it!” Yeah…I too am a fan.

I tell you, not even my sister understood me on this one; but nothing can explain or replace the feeling I got when they finally brought forward the theme song and I watched Rocky work his way up through his routine and… run up THOSE stairs. 

As Rocky kept having those flashbacks in this movie, so did I.  Good memories can and should never be taken away from you.  Kudos to Sylvester Stallone for stepping in the ring again for one last time. Because as per Rocky: No one has the right to tell you can’t do what you want to do, especially after you’ve followed their rules and passed their tests.

Responses

  1. […] Punching bag up…I’ll try to remind myself daily that it’s ok, maybe necessary, to be punchy. […]

  2. […] Xhyra Graf Journal, Quotes Bitching, Journal, Quotes Leave a comment Punching bag up…I’ll try to remind myself daily that it’s ok, maybe necessary, to be punchy. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

