Posted by: Xhyra Graf | 14 January 2007

SteelPalm

SteelPalm

Originally uploaded by Xhyra Graf.

I thought I would start out importing the textures of my rl artwork and placing them on simple low prim sculptural pieces. So I finally get to make giant sculpture without worrying about the cost and storage 🙂

I had originally done the two curved pieces with the given sl metal texture, but supposed in rl I would need some kind of front piece to brace them. I like the final result. Woohoo! Even considering the fact that I probably would not be able to make this work in rl – I will be spending more ‘sketching’ time in sl. There is a whole process behind getting the fiberglass to do what caused this kind of texture that I am not sure I could get to work for a sculpture of this size in the real. I will have to work on making smaller ‘sections’ that can be assembled, which is how I usually work anyway.

Must find a place with a higher prim limit or pay to raise the one in this studio. Or, well, get rid of some non-essentials like the claw foot tub I have that I always wanted to have in a studio loft.

Leave a Reply

Categories

