Posted by: Xhyra Graf | 24 January 2007

Axis Mundi ruined

I can finally think about this without getting a disturbed, nauseous feeling…

axis+mundi.jpg DSCN0336.jpg

So, I was on my way to uninstall Axis Mundi from the Broward County Library Gallery Six and I received a call on my cell.  “You can’t take your artwork, it’s been damaged.”  Huh?! Still I somehow didn’t expect what I saw when I got off the elevator.

09-Photo 9.jpg 24-Photo 24.jpg 19-Photo 19.jpg 17-Photo 17.jpg

This has been a lesson to me.  I was ‘working under the misapprehension’ [hey, a reason to use that phrase] that my work would be safe. If even in the back of my mind I thought that something might happen, it was accompanied by the idea that it could NEVER be damaged enough especially in a LIBRARY, that it couldn’t be repaired.  I never thought that something would happen where the painting would be dragged through the sand enough to embed it into the layers.

Then dealing with the police officer. He was actually kind of cute.  Uniforms do something… That wore off however.  “Well, I know that’s the price, but how much will repairs cost?” I [still in shock and feeling like I was going to throw up] was running through my mind the thoughts that I priced this thing according to work put into the painting, all else was found material that I cleaned up.  That was the bulk of any “cost” and it didn’t look like it could be fixed.  I wasn’t answering fast enough. “You know, how much will it be to fix it?”  I felt the heat come up around my ears first…

I saw the video.  Although it would make a better story if someone tried to steal it or even “Valuable Shamanistic Work of Art Beset by Despots”.  But not even that, really two teens were just being STUPID and knocked it over.  Why would anyone try to rub sand on a painting?  The painting was ruined either then or when they tried to set it right again [and obviously failed].

The question of how much to claim for damage and repair became an irritation to me.  I kept thinking of the layer after layer of the painting [38, why that number? As anyone should be able to guess by now, I very rarely do anything arbitrary, expecially in art. Hint-35 monofilament lines for Phenomenological Approach, 36 Panels for Artefacts of Emergence.  Yes, I missed a year-Artefacts took two to finish], the fact that there would now be a kind of frosted area-possibly rolled up bits of latex when I rubbed off the sand and the number of layers would change. IT COULD NOT BE FIXED!

The nauseous feeling still kind of lingers…

Lesson learned.

Responses

  1. […] Per Xhyra “The first major project is a virtual reconstruction of Axis Mundi. Open Studio hours will be Fridays from 1pm to 7pm PST.  Since basic membership is free, get a Second Life and join me in world!”

  2. […] Per Xhyra “The first major project is a virtual reconstruction of Axis Mundi. Open Studio hours will be Fridays from 1pm to 7pm PST.  Since basic membership is free, get a Second Life and join me in world!” […]

  3. […] Per Xhyra “The first major project is a virtual reconstruction of Axis Mundi. Open Studio hours will be Fridays from 1pm to 7pm PST.  Since basic membership is free, get a Second Life and join me in world!” […]

  4. […] 88 days later-Axis Mundi ruined  Tonietta: I have just received confirmation from our staff here that they are in receipt of your check. We were also contacted by the Risk Management division who informed us that the piece that was damaged is now the property of Broward County Board of County Commissioners. You will need to make arrangements to have the piece delivered to us prior to receiving the insurance check. […]

  5. […] 88 days later…Axis Mundi ruined  Tonietta: I have just received confirmation from our staff here that they are in receipt of your check. We were also contacted by the Risk Management division who informed us that the piece that was damaged is now the property of Broward County Board of County Commissioners. You will need to make arrangements to have the piece delivered to us prior to receiving the insurance check. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

