Posted by: Xhyra Graf | 10 May 2010

Axis Mundi

Axis Mundi

To try to continue this: https://xhyra.wordpress.com/2010/05/06/free-harmony/

I need to remember not to be so hard on myself.  If things are difficult for me to articulate, that’s OK.  Maybe it’s because I’m trying to articulate the difficult to articulate [Duh!] lol.

In any case, free harmony…  I see that type of aesthetic experience as a a moment of being confronted with either ‘reality’1 as it pertains to the whole or maybe more specifically a moment where the classical meets the quantum within one spacio-temporally located entity —  and experience of the doorway, the Axis Mundi.

Axis Mundi God help me, why is this so difficult?

Now, phenomenologically [let me stipulate here…for me] there seems to be some relation/similarity between this moment, the flow experience and mystical experience.  Why is this important?  Obviously, I believe my experience can be generalized-if only by the sharing of it through the objects produced.  Obviously, it is important to me for various reasons.  However, does this importance generalize?

OK, I made a conscious decision to make art because of clear [to me] reasons.  It seems a  non sequitur to conclude that I could understand2 how I think by reading what other people thought especially since I was mostly interested in those “thoughts that have no words” or happen all at One-ce. Plus the admission that I have a learned skepticism about the veracity of other people’s interpretations of things.

So I have to start with verbalizing why this is important to me to even get anywhere…

Large scale: Want to know the extent of the relationship between aesthetic experience and religious experience – do they both get us to the same place? OK, they both seem to get me to the same place — or do they? False positive on the spiritual development?

Micro scale3: The aesthetic experience [for the creator of art and I argue that this is the same on certain levels as for the art viewer4] seems to allow for investigation of states of consciousness [like the Buddhist identifying the ‘multiple strata of delusion’5] without religious dogma-i.e allow for a measure of syncretism AND sit squarely in the middle [or include both types, no squarely in the middle is right. It is why ‘free harmony’ is important] of what would be considered conscious/cognitive and non-conscious/non-cognitive processing.

Does this generalize?: Maybe it is only important in so much as I continue to share the artefacts of my thought processes. In a Tolstoy-like view of art, which I guess I subscribe to, it is not art unless it ‘infects’ the viewer in the same way.

Tired…continue later and I’ll need another post to address the Art-e-Facts — the whole VR thing.

Also, I guess it’s here that I have to admit that with enough work phenomenal similarity ‘facts’ can obtain from the primitive concept .

______________________________________

1Note to the seeming contradiction of a judgment of beauty appearing to be universal even though it is obviously a subjective experience — because it is a moment of contact with the universal ‘idea’ within this state of free harmony?

Pepperell: images that do not resolve.

2The word ‘understand’ here is important. One can know something, say by reading it but one needs to process internally to understand – especially if it involves your own behaviour. To place this within context — I can be told that the similarity in the various experiences [especially if I am intellectually aware and can agree that there is no difference in kind] means that there is no [personal] God-but for me to understand this is going to take more than the telling.

3Note to microlevel processes: I, at bottom, believe in the necessity of quantum processes [as the closest ‘description’ we have of the underlying reality of ‘things’].  If we take into account such things as quantum indeterminacy, entanglement, superposition, wave collapse, etc.  it would seem to be important to remove a possible ‘observer’ effect [on the macrolevel] of a employing a religious approach rather than employing the purely aesthetic in attempting a syncretic method to ‘nondual’ [for lack of a better word-if we actually achieved or maintained nonduality we would all ping out of here. quasi-nondual?] states.

4Actually, this again a problem with verbalization of complex things… the aesthetic experience is the same for the viewer and the creator of art.  It is just that the artist becomes ‘practiced’ at extending this experience [see the SEER Model] in order to express this ‘aesthetic idea’ thus it becomes or seems to become a different thing. Things are further complicated because I am making works about the experiences.

5http://theartsoffice.net/noumenart/Papers/Compatibilities.htm#_Toc154146261

Responses

  1. […] pick up from here:  What’s the importance of the VR, specifically Second Life? Is it just that it’s more […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

