Posted by: Xhyra Graf | 23 November 2010

First Rune Reading

I was given a bag of Runes and The Book of Runes by Ralph Blum.*

Finally picking up the book to read it one late night, at some point I found myself reading in the state between being asleep and awake. OK, as good a time as any to attempt to read the Runes.

I decided to do Odin’s Rune – “drawing one Rune for the an overview of an entire situation.”

Fehu-Possessions, Nourishment, Cattle-not reversed

The “Rune of fulfillment: ambition satisfied, rewards received, love fulfilled. It also promises nourishment, from the most worldly to the sacred and Divine.”

I found that interesting.  The further interpretation in the book seemed to make sense for where I am now.

 

So, I thought I would do a 3 Rune spread – the magic number three 🙂 The second 3 Rune reading was one that gave you [reading from right to left] – You Now|Challenge|Best Outcome. I drew the following in R to L order [all not reversed]:

You Now: The Blank Rune-The Unknowable, The God Odin

“Blank is the end. Blank the beginning. This is the Rune of total trust and should be taken as exciting evidence of your most immediate contact with your own true destiny which, time and again, rises like the phoenix from the ashes of what we call fate. The Blank Rune can portend a death. But that death is usually symbolic, and may relate to any part of you life as you are living it now. Relinquishing control is the ultimate challenge for the Spiritual Warrior. Here the Unknowable informs you that it is in motion in your life.  In that blankness is held undiluted potential. At the same time pregnant and empty, it comprehends the totality of being, all that is to be actualized.”

Hmmm… I began to feel a little weird.

 

Challenge: Uruz-Strength, Manhood, Womanhood, A Wild Ox

The Rune of termination and new beginnings. Drawing it indicates the life you have been living has outgrown its form, which must die so that life energy can be released in a new birth, a new form.  Uruz is the Rune of passage and, as such, part of the Cycle of Self-Transformation.

Well Hell! At this point I got teary-eyed.

 

Best Outcome: Teiwaz-Warrior Energy, The God Tiw

“This is the Rune of the Spiritual Warrior.  Always the battle of the Spiritual Warrior is with the self. Funding a will through action, yet unattached to the outcomes, remaining mindful that all you can really do is stay out of your own way and let the Will of heaven flow through you — these are the hallmarks of the Spiritual Warrior.”

Now, I may not really prepared to say that I’ve managed to ‘tap into whatever may be’ on my first try ever to do a Rune reading and therefore managed to pull the mystical life Runes most applicable to my situation, but it certainly seems that way.

NaNU|NaNU

 

*words in quotes are directly from the text.
Categories

