Posted by: Xhyra Graf | 20 May 2011

Mummy visits my world.

It’s been a while since I’ve posted. This is something I really wanted to remember.

There isn’t even a really good picture of it.

I suppose there is some appropriateness to the fact that I looked like a big egg the entire time 🙂 In any case she could see me fine.

What is more important is that for whatever reason I thought removing the psychological weights of creating yet another account and avatar creation would make it possible to get my mother to visit my world to see what I’ve been doing. She could just use Kitely to get in with her existing facebook account.

I had a wonderful time. I got to walk around with her, see her learn how to do things, get notecards, etc.  I must say she was must better at walking around that I was the first time I entered this kind of virtual world.

I clicked on her avatar to send her a friend request-which she accepted, lol. Then it hit me! I was interacting with my mother in a virtual world that I created! She is experiencing the things I constantly talk about. It was a great moment.  And she can keep coming to visit me.  This is good, especially since I am no longer right next door.

I had pause to wonder about genetic/hereditary similarities in levels of immersion or the lived experience of being in a virtual world [yeah, sucks to be me] when we came to the water’s edge and I began to cross over to get to the TAO Building. I haven’t bothered to put in some kind of crossing yet-I already have 3 rather minimal [read ugly] bridges.

“Wait, that’s water!”

” I know just keep walking straight ahead until you get to the other side.”

“Oooohhh… I don’t like this,” she said when her head first went under.

She repeated it until I saw her head come up again.  Hmmm…

I quite comfortably go walking around underwater [and flying] all the time now but I remember the first time I found myself [notice I did not say willingly went] under water.  It was not pleasant.  I felt within myself the tension associated with suppressing all kinds of automatic reactions.

Anyway I digress, We got to the other side and were able to get to the safer 🙂 dock over the water on the other side of the TAO Building.

I just wanted to make a note of the experience.

Digital memories, etc, etc.

It was a good day.

Categories

