Posted by: Xhyra Graf | 3 August 2013

Priceless…

Or Caxamba 2…  Some work in progress…

candelabro do renascimento

candelabro do renascimento

Titled such mostly because of this…

Molten metal leaves a mark on my shoe and.. my soul.

Molten metal leaves a mark on my shoe and.. my soul.

I had another moment. A fraction of a second really. I know this because otherwise I would be presenting a picture of a metal burn on my bare toe. So, I saw the arc and watched the ball of molten metal fall on my boot and… burn. In those moments I remembered how much I love doing this stuff. You can control how much harm comes to you when welding but some happenings or scars are a badge of honor.  I don’t mean scars like this…

Skin pinch. And the badge of stupidity award goes to...

Skin pinch. And the badge of stupidity award goes to…

I should have been wearing gloves or just been more careful. No, the trajectory of a tiny ball of molten metal is something over which you don’t really have any control – Comes with the territory. All you can do is try to make sure most parts of your body are covered – maybe stand in a certain way while you weld or hold the grinder at a certain angle.

It’s why Caxamba is proud of the classes he gives to the young. Andreia noted how the young men were both friendly and direct. Caxamba replied that their posture changes when they can say, “Eu sou um soldador.”

I am still hopeful that one day I will get to teach “Forging Femininity” classes to young women and watch as the ability to weld and forge metal gives them the feeling of empowerment it gives me.

King Leonidas: You there, what is your profession?
Free Greek-Potter: I am a potter… sir.
King Leonidas: [points to another soldier] And you, Arcadian, what is your profession?
Free Greek-Sculptor: Sculptor, sir.
King Leonidas: Sculptor.
[turns to a third soldier]
King Leonidas: You?
Free Greek-Blacksmith: Blacksmith.

So in the end, it goes something like this:

Flight ticket to Brazil: Too much [My thanks to Grandma Walters for the unexpected gift that covered this cost.]

Re-learning my craft with the help of a master: Gratis

The eternity of a moment when my soul reconnects with ‘being’ and smiles: Priceless

Daxos: Why do you smile?
Stelios: Arcadian, I’ve [created] countless times, yet [it’s rare that there is one] that [offers] me … “A Beautiful [Challenge].” I can only hope, …  there might be one here … [that forces me to be] up to the task.

Categories

